The Word - 2010/04/22



The Word from CSEA

Columbus State Education Association Newsletter of April 22, 2010


Thank you to those who responded with input on the two options being considered for health insurance coverage beginning on July 1. The first option was to keep the same insurance coverage and accept a 2.9% increase in premiums. The second option was to make some changes to the insurance coverage, especially in the co-pay amounts and, for the HSA, the deductible for prescription drugs, in order to keep premiums the same as last year.

The additional deductible for prescription drugs for employees on the HSA will be incorporated. However, those employees on the HSA plan will be given a prescription card that will have prescription co-pays of $10/$30/$60 that will apply at the onset of the coverage year. Thus, rather than paying the full price for prescription drugs until the deductible is met (as is the current practice for HSA participants), HSA participants will pay only the co-pay amount for those prescription drugs. This should result in fewer employees spending the full amount of the deductible, and for those who do, only prescription drug co-pay expenses will be incurred for the additional deductible amount.

We expect an official explanation of the new health insurance plan will be forthcoming from Human Resources during the open enrollment period.


CSEA sent out upward evaluation forms to all full-time faculty last week, and we appreciate the responses sent in so far. We’re extending the original deadline of this Friday (April 23) to next Monday, April 26, since Friday is In-Service Day and there will be other distractions.

Please take 10 minutes or so to complete the survey and return it to us. Individual evaluations and the compiled results will be shared only with department chairs and their respective deans; they will not be publicized.


In the past, faculty who did not teach summer quarter were supposed to have their annual self-appraisals turned in by the end of Spring Quarter, and faculty who did teach summer quarter were supposed to have them turned in by the end of Summer Quarter. The faculty handbook and/or the promotion and tenure handbook still state these deadlines.

Chairpersons have asked to have these reports turned in earlier so they aren't swamped with self-appraisals (especially in large departments) in September. During bargaining in 2008 and in informal discussions with deans since then, CSEA has indicated this is not an unreasonable request. We encourage faculty to complete annual appraisals by June 30 to assist chairs in completing this important and time-consuming work.


Over the past year or so, a committee of faculty has been working on revising College Procedure 5-09(D) ["Grading and Academic Requirements"], which includes the process for students appealing their course grades (Sections 7 and 8 of the Procedure). A final revision has been approved by both councils of shared governance, and per Article 11 of the faculty contract is awaiting approval by the CSEA and the College. One of the intents of the changes was to give faculty a larger role in deciding whether or not the complaint merits a grade grievance hearing and in determining whether or not a grade change is warranted.

We are asking for faculty feedback on the proposed changes -- essentially, a vote "yea" or "nay" on whether or not you accept the changes to the Grade Grievance process. Please review the revised procedure at, and offer your feedback to Dr. Jeff Richardson ( by Friday, April 30. Thank you to Jeff for serving as CSEA's representative on the grade change committee during the past few months.


Once again this year, CSEA is proud to be joining forces with others from the College to raise funds for breast cancer research and treatment programs as part of the Komen Race for the Cure on Saturday, May 15. Registration must be completed online by Friday, April 23, 2010 OR with a Team Member Registration form and returned with fee money by Friday, April 23, 2010.

To register online, follow the directions below:

  1. Go to
  2. On the right hand side of the page, click on "Join Kevin’s Team".
  3. Fill out the rest of the form. Team registration is $30.

To get a Team Member Registration from, please contact one of the following people:

If you would like to see who is on Columbus State’s team and how much we have raised so far or you want to make a donation to the team, click on “Columbus State Community College.” To make a donation, click on the “Donate to this Team!” button above the team thermometer.

5k begins at 8:15am for competitors with a race chip ($5 extra). All other runners will begin at 8:30am.

Race packet includes a race t-shirt, bib number, race day materials and special offers.

All funds from the Komen Race for the Cure go to research, education, screening, and treatment programs of Breast Cancer.


CSEA offers congratulations to Richard Rosen, who a few months ago was appointed by Gov. Strickland to serve on the Columbus State Board of Trustees, for being awarded OSU's 2009 Distinguished Service Award. Rosen serves as Senior Vice President of Education and Philanthropy at Battelle, and oversees Battelle's education partnerships. He was instrumental in helping to establish Metro High School (a public high school focused on STEM disciplines), the OSU Urban Arts Space at the Lazarus Building downtown, and the Battelle Center in Math and Science Education Policy at the John Glenn School of Public Affairs. Rosen was honored at OSU's Winter Quarter commencement on March 21.

CSEA looks forward to working with Mr. Rosen in his role as a CSCC board member and hopes that he and other board members whom Gov. Strickland has appointed over the last few years recognize the importance of having a healthy, collaborative working relationship with the faculty.

The Word is produced by the Communications Committee of the Columbus State Education Association. We welcome your comments, news, and insights.

Darrell Minor, President/ x5310
Kevin James, Vice-President / x5008
Judy Anderson, Secretary / x5453
Phil MacLean, Treasurer / x5308
Ingrid Emch, Parliamentarian-elect / x5824

Steve Abbott, Senior Association Representative / x5096
Gil Feiertag, Senior Association Representative / x5861
Beth Barnett, Association Representative / x2593
Dr. Bill Cook, Association Representative / x5364
T.J. Duda, Association Representative / x5309
Cindy Evans, Association Representative / x2435
Dr. Charlie Gallucci, Association Representative / x5499
Dr. Mort Javadi, Association Representative / x5635
Dr. Sue Longenbaker, Association Representative / x2430
Jackie Miller, Association Representative / x2601
Mark Mitchell, Association Representative / x3612
Eric Nuebauer, Association Representative / x5698
Dr. Antoinette Perkins, Association Representative / x5754
Keith Sanders, Association Representative / x2588
Mike Schumacher, Association Representative / x5482
Gilberto Serrano, Association Representative / x3863

This record has been viewed 1096 times.


Be the first to leave a comment.

Leave your comment
CAPTCHA Validation