The Word - 2006/11/27



The Word from CSEA

Columbus State Education Association Newsletter of November 27, 2006


We appreciate those who have already volunteered to help take pledges as part of WOSU-TV's annual fund-raising telethon, and we can still use your help. We could use another half-dozen people.

We're seeking 12-15 volunteers to staff phones and take pledges on Tuesday, December 5, from 7-10:30 p.m. at the WOSU studios at the Fawcett Center near OSU. Join your colleagues from CSEA in providing service to an important community cultural resource. To volunteer, contact Steve Abbott at x5096.

Those who have already volunteered should email their home or cell phone numbers to Steve Abbott as soon as possible. Additional information for volunteers will be sent out separately.


We remind you of the CSEA member meeting this Wednesday, November 29, at 3 p.m. in Union 138-139. The meeting should last no longer than 45 minutes.

The agenda will include installation of newly elected officers, announcement of Association Representative service areas and a vote on the proposed amendment to the CSEA Constitution that will allow absentee voting on Association issues. The proposal appears below:

(proposed to be inserted as Article VI, Section 2.3)

"The Nominating Committee shall make provisions for members of the Association to vote by absentee ballot. Absentee ballots will be issued to those members of the Association who are unable to attend a meeting during which elections of officers and Association Representatives will be conducted, and who request such absentee ballot in accordance with timelines established by the Nominating Committee. All absentee ballots shall remain unopened and uncounted until after the regularly-scheduled meeting at which elections of officers and Association Representatives occurs."


We remind all full-time faculty that office hours must be kept during finals week. These hours do not have to be at the same time as those scheduled for the rest of the quarter but can instead be scheduled for your convenience.

The Word is produced by the Communications Committee of the Columbus State Education Association. We welcome your comments, news, and insights.

Steve Abbott, President / x5096
Darrell Minor, Vice President / x5310
Amy Brubaker, Secretary and Association Representative / x5068
Greg Goodhart, Treasurer / x5431
Dr. Jane McDowell, Association Representative / x2656 
Dave Busch, Association Representative / x5079
Susan Moran, Association Representative / x5453
Dr. Charlie Gallucci, Association Representative / x5499
Gil Feiertag, Association Representative / x5861 
Cindy Evans, Association Representative / x2435 
Leslie Smith, Association Representative / x5302
Dr. Wendy McCullen-Vermillion, Association Representative / x2693

This record has been viewed 684 times.


Be the first to leave a comment.

Leave your comment
CAPTCHA Validation