The Word - 2006/10/10



The Word from CSEA

Columbus State Education Association Newsletter of October 10, 2006


The first Association member meeting of the new school year will take place this Thursday, October 12. at 3 p.m. in Franklin 104. There will be a brief informational meeting, discussion and a doption of a new budget, and voting on new officers, Association Representatives, and Representative Assembly delegates.

The voting period will continue in FR 104 until 6 p.m. Thursday and will continue from 9 a.m.-noon on Friday, October 13 in the Mathematics Department conference room, 4th floor of Davidson Hall. If your schedule does not permit you to attend the entire meeting, be sure to take time to vote later Thursday or before noon Friday. Your CSEA dues must be current in order to vote.


The Nominating Committee has put forward the following list of candidates for CSEA leadership positions:

Kevin James (Math) and Darrell Minor (Math)
Vice-President (1-year term):
Bob Stein (Communication Skills) and Amy Brubaker (Human Resources Management)
Susan Moran (Technical Communication) and Julie Molnar (Modern Languages)
Phil MacLean (Math), unopposed
Parliamentarian (1-year term):
Mary Morgan (Nuclear Medicine), unopposed

Under normal conditions, only the President, Secretary, and Treasurer would be up for election this year. However, with the retirement of former Vice President Karl Rieppel and the appointment of Parliamentarian Darrell Minor to Vice President, these two officer positions that were filled in elections last October must be voted on now to fill the positions for the duration of the original terms. Therefore, candidates for Vice President and Parliamentarian in this election will run for one-year terms.

The Association is also increasing the number of Association Representatives, who function as resources for all bargaining unit members and as representatives in corrective action or grievance situations. There are two vacancies as a result of retirements, and the Executive Committee is adding 8 new Association Representative positions to more effectively communicate faculty needs to the union leadership. The following 13 individuals are running for the 10 available Association Representativepositions (David Hall's name was omitted from the previous slate):

W. David Hall (Developmental Education)
Judy Anderson, Communication Skills
Liz Betzel, Math
Mark Bocija, Humanities
Tim Davis, Humanities
T.J. Duda, Math
Bob Mergel, Construction Sciences
Eric Neubauer, Social & Behavioral Sciences
Ann Palazzo, Communication Skills
Dona Reaser, Humanities
Gilberto Serrano, Modern Languages
Kathy Struve, Math
Steve Abbott, Communication Skills

There will also be election of 3 delegates for the Central OEA/NEA and OEA Representative Assemblies (RA). Delegates represent the Association at periodic local and regional OEA meetings. The following members are seeking Th. e positions:

Sherry Crawford-Eyen (re-election)
Adam Moskowitz
Martha Sucheston

Several members have asked about absentee voting. Although the current by-laws make no provision for absentee balloting, at Thursday's meeting the Executive Committee will propose an amendment to the by-laws that will permit absentee voting for specific, limited purposes. Following by-laws procedure, members will be able to vote on whether to adopt this change at a future member meeting.


At least a half dozen faculty have reported that they did not receive notification of their eligibility for promotion and tenure during this academic year. Several made anxious trips to campus to meet the October 1 deadline for filing the required letter of intent to seek tenure.

It's unclear at this time what happened and why only some faculty received the mailed notification from HR that they were eligible (and required) to file their notices of intent to seek tenure. If you were hired in 2002 or 2003 and have not applied for tenure/first promotion, check with the Human Resources office immediately. If you are eligible and did not file by the October 1 deadline, notify your Association Representative immediately.

The Word is produced by the Communications Committee of the Columbus State Education Association. We welcome your comments, news, and insights.

Steve Abbott, President / x5096
Darrell Minor, Vice President / x5310
Amy Brubaker, Secretary and Association Representative / x5068
Greg Goodhart, Treasurer / x5431
Dr. Jane McDowell, Association Representative / x2656 
Dave Busch, Association Representative / x5079
Susan Moran, Association Representative / x5453
Dr. Charlie Gallucci, Association Representative / x5499
Gil Feiertag, Association Representative / x5861 
Cindy Evans, Association Representative / x2435 
Leslie Smith, Association Representative / x5302
Dr. Wendy McCullen-Vermillion, Association Representative / x2693

This record has been viewed 774 times.


Be the first to leave a comment.

Leave your comment
CAPTCHA Validation