The Word - 2006/10/02



The Word from CSEA

Columbus State Education Association Newsletter of October 2, 2006


The first Association member meeting of the new school year will take place on Thursday, October 12. at 3 p.m. in Franklin 104. There will be a brief informational meeting and voting on new officers, Association Representatives, and Representative Assembly delegates.

The voting period will continue until 6 p.m. Thursday and will continue from 9 a.m.-noon on Friday, October 13 in the Mathematics Department conference room, 4th floor of Davidson Hall. If your schedule does not permit you to attend the entire meeting, be sure to take time to vote later Thursday or before noon Friday. Your CSEA dues must be current in order to vote.


The Nominating Committee has put forward the following list of candidates for CSEA leadership positions:

Kevin James (Math) and Darrell Minor (Math)
Vice-President (1-year term):
Bob Stein (Communication Skills) and Amy Brubaker (Human Resources Management)
Susan Moran (Technical Communication) and Julie Molnar (Modern Languages)
Phil MacLean (Math), unopposed
Parliamentarian (1-year term):
Mary Morgan (Nuclear Medicine), unopposed

Under normal conditions, only the President, Secretary, and Treasurer would be up for election this year. However, with the retirement of former Vice President Karl Rieppel and the appointment of Parliamentarian Darrell Minor to Vice President, these two officer positions that were filled in elections last year must be voted on now. Therefore, candidates for Vice President and Parliamentarian will run for 1-year terms, completing the unfinished terms for those positions.

The Association is also increasing the number of Association Representatives, who function as resources for all bargaining unit members and as representatives in corrective action or grievance situations. There are two vacancies as a result of retirements, and the Executive Committee is adding 8 new Association Representative positions to more effectively communicate faculty needs to the union leadership.

The following 12 individuals are running for the 10 available Association Representative positions:

Judy Anderson, Communication Skills
Liz Betzel, Math
Mark Bocija, Humanities
Tim Davis, Humanities
T.J. Duda, Math
Bob Mergel, Construction Sciences
Eric Neubauer, Social & Behavioral Sciences
Ann Palazzo, Communication Skills
Dona Reaser, Humanities
Gilberto Serrano, Modern Languages
Kathy Struve, Math
Steve Abbott, Communication Skills

There will also be election of 3 delegates for the Central OEA/NEA and OEA Representative Assemblies:

Sherry Crawford-Eyen
Adam Moskowitz
Martha Sucheston


Current members received letters along with updated OEA materials. If you previously signed up for continuing payroll deduction, you should have received your new membership card by now and you do not need to do anything further. (If you have not, contact your Association Representative or Treasurer Greg Goodhart). Members who previously paid their dues by check or by annual payroll deduction should have received a new membership form along with updated OEA materials.

If you have any questions or need help completing the forms, please don't hesitate to contact Membership Chair Ingrid Emch. We are excited about building our membership. CSEA representatives are contacting any non-members to deliver the printed version of current working terms and to discuss what CSEA has achieved. (The additional $500 paid in the first pay after July 1 came as a result of negotiations and will either set off health care costs or cover most of the coming year's union dues.) We look forward to all full-time faculty becoming active members of our faculty organization.


We salute the full-time faculty who volunteered as part of the Welcome Team at the beginning of the quarter. Welcome Team members assist students in the hectic opening days of the quarter: Gilberto Serrano, Beth Barnett, Joan Petrusky, Barb Thompson, Jacqie Walli, Jackie Miller, Jim Kimnach, Susan Flatt, Lilia Bermudez, Mary Insabella, Mary Lou Guillory, Greg Goodhart, Dean Boortz, Becky Mobley, Deb Bertsch, Kris Ramsey, Barbara Kerr, Judy Anderson, Patricia Opong, Tracy Koski, Brenna Michelis, Sue Donohue, Kathy Struve, and Sherry Crawford-Eyen. (Anyone else? Let us know. We worked off the Welcome Team work schedule.)


We also extend our appreciation to those who took the time to fill out the AQIP survey that will frame In-Service Day discussions about accreditation issues. Your feedback suggests that many faculty not only completed the survey but took the time to add clarifying comments throughout the process. It's an impressive and noteworthy effort, especially since many faculty completed the survey during quarter break. Your input will make a difference in developing discussion topics and a meaningful final report.

The Word is produced by the Communications Committee of the Columbus State Education Association. We welcome your comments, news, and insights.

Steve Abbott, President / x5096
Darrell Minor, Vice President / x5310
Amy Brubaker, Secretary and Association Representative / x5068
Greg Goodhart, Treasurer / x5431
Dr. Jane McDowell, Association Representative / x2656 
Dave Busch, Association Representative / x5079
Susan Moran, Association Representative / x5453
Dr. Charlie Gallucci, Association Representative / x5499
Gil Feiertag, Association Representative / x5861 
Cindy Evans, Association Representative / x2435 
Leslie Smith, Association Representative / x5302
Dr. Wendy McCullen-Vermillion, Association Representative / x2693

This record has been viewed 1346 times.


Be the first to leave a comment.

Leave your comment
CAPTCHA Validation