The Word - 2006/09/20



The Word from CSEA

Columbus State Education Association Newsletter of September 20, 2006


CSEA extends a warm and collegial welcome to all new faculty, including those who joined the College during Spring and Summer Quarters. We hope that you'll take advantage of the experience and insight available from your colleagues and experienced staff and managers as you adjust to Columbus State. Your faculty Association exists to serve you. Let us be a primary resource for addressing your questions and concerns.


Mark your calendar now for the first Association meeting of the new school year. The meeting will be on Thursday, October 12. at 3 p.m. There will be a brief informational meeting and voting on new officers and Association Representatives.

Location and additional information on the proposed slates will appear in the next issue of The Word.


CSEA's Membership Committee reminds everyone that now is the time for payment of dues. All full-time faculty should have received a membership letter by now. If you have not received one, please email Membership chair Ingrid Emch at to let her know.

Current members received letters along with updated OEA materials. If you previously signed up for continuing payroll deduction, your new membership card is enclosed with the letter, and you do not need to do anything further. Current members who previously paid their dues by check or by annual payroll deduction should have a new membership form along with updated OEA materials.

President Steve Abbott and Vice-President Darrell Minor made a presentation Monday to new faculty as part of new faculty orientation, and the CSEA membership team will be contacting faculty who are not currently members about joining. Faculty members interested in joining CSEA may complete the membership form. Once processed, you will receive a packet of materials that explains some of the benefits you are entitled to as a member of the faculty organization.

If you have any questions or need help completing the forms, please don't hesitate to contact Ingrid. We are excited about building our membership and hope you will become active members of our faculty organization.


The Hospitality Management program and the Development Foundation once again put together an outstanding "Taste the Future" event September 12 that drew a large crowd despite the rain that forced relocation to the parking garage.

For years CSEA members have made up the bulk of faculty volunteers at this annual culinary event to raise money for student scholarships, and this year was no exception. In addition to Hospitality Management faculty Mokie Steiskal and Jim Taylor, 15 of the 16 faculty volunteers were CSEA members.

CSEA has received a thank-you note from Matt Kelly, executive director of the Development Foundation, recognizing CSEA's contribution to the event. We extend our own appreciation to Beth Barnett, Mike Squires, Rita Bova, Mary Insabella, Gil Feiertag, Lilia Bermudez, Robyn Lyons-Robinson, Mary Morgan, Mary Reiter, Barb Thompson, Erica Swartz, Lisa Gordon, Phil MacLean, Barbara Kerr, Greg Goodhart, and Steve Abbott.


CSEA members will be participating in the annual "Light the Night Walk" for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society on Saturday, September 30.

The walk will start at 7:45 p.m. at OSU's Fred Beekman Park, located on the corner of Lane Avenue & Kenny Road on West Campus. We will meet at the balloon arch at 7:15 p.m. and walk together walk with "Team Havener". If you want to come even earlier, food and festivities start at 5:30 p.m. You can park over on West Campus behind the baseball diamonds (the entrance into parking is directly across from the OSU farm facility on Kenny south of Lane).

If you want to walk or donate to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, contact Lisa Gordon at x5293 to get more information.

CSEA has also applied to participate as volunteers with the WOSU-TV pledge drive in December. More information on this is forthcoming.


The deadline for completing the Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP) is coming up. The survey, which is totally confidential, is available online through this Friday, September 22. You can access the survey by following this link: and using the password "cscc".

As part of its accreditation process, the College is conducting the survey to measure the effectiveness of varying aspects of the College's operation. AQIP offers all employees the opportunity to provide candid evaluations of a range of college services & activities. In the past, issues including governance, decision-making processes, and full-time/part-time faculty ratio have been areas of particular concern.

CSEA strongly urges you to make faculty viewpoints heard through this important activity. Faculty input is critical to developing an accurate and realistic appraisal of institutional performance. Please complete the survey.

Your thoughtful participation is critical. Since there are many questions, we offer the following helpful hints:

  1. You can spread your work over several sessions. You can save your responses and log in later to complete the process. Be sure to write down or print out your access number before closing out of your session.
  2. Keep in mind that each question has 2 parts: the College's goals and how well these goals are being achieved.
  3. Consider making additional comments to any question by clicking the "Add comments" button, particularly on the last few questions. These final questions may be the most important section for faculty and for the larger process.

The Word is produced by the Communications Committee of the Columbus State Education Association. We welcome your comments, news, and insights.

Steve Abbott, President / x5096
Darrell Minor, Vice President / x5310
Amy Brubaker, Secretary and Association Representative / x5068
Greg Goodhart, Treasurer / x5431
Dr. Jane McDowell, Association Representative / x2656 
Dave Busch, Association Representative / x5079
Susan Moran, Association Representative / x5453
Dr. Charlie Gallucci, Association Representative / x5499
Gil Feiertag, Association Representative / x5861 
Cindy Evans, Association Representative / x2435 
Leslie Smith, Association Representative / x5302
Dr. Wendy McCullen-Vermillion, Association Representative / x2693

This record has been viewed 1043 times.


Be the first to leave a comment.

Leave your comment
CAPTCHA Validation